Solitaire by Alice Oseman

Rating – 4.5/5

“My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that’s all over now. Now there’s Solitaire. And Michael Holden. I don’t know what Solitaire are trying to do. And I don’t care about Michael Holden. I really don’t.”

This is the first book I’ve read by Alice Oseman and I absolutely loved it! It’s by no means the best book I’ve ever read but there’s something about it that I just adored.

The characters are so vibrant and authentic – I completely adored Nick and Charlie and I’m so excited to read Heartstopper, a comic Alice is writing all about the two of them. I related to quite a lot of the feelings Tori experienced which made the story all the more special. I flew through it, despite it being character driven and not too much happening compared to a plot-based book – I just couldn’t put it down! I loved the Solitaire aspect and I found it to be very reminiscent of Nerve, although not quite to the extreme of that book. It added a really unique element to the story and I enjoyed how it played out at the end. I also really loved how the book was set at a Sixth Form college as it made the story all the more relatable as I finished Sixth Form myself just a year ago. I adore books set in the UK as they are so much more relatable than American YA but I rarely seem to find them so this book was a treat!

I can’t speak for the mental health representation in this book so I would recommend heading to Goodreads and checking out some reviews as they seem to be quite varied!

I highly recommend this book and I can’t wait to read more from Alice!

Leave a Reply

