A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard

Rating – 4/5

“Steffi doesn’t talk, but she has so much to say. Rhys can’t hear, but he can listen. Their love isn’t a lightning strike, it’s the rumbling roll of thunder. Steffi has been a selective mute for most of her life – she’s been silent for so long that she feels completely invisible. But Rhys, the new boy at school, sees her. He’s deaf, and her knowledge of basic sign language means that she’s assigned to look after him To Rhys, it’s doesn’t matter that Steffi doesn’t talk, and as they find ways to communicate, Steffi finds that she does have a voice, and that she’s falling in love with the one person who makes her feel brave enough to use it.”

This book really surprised me. I found the writing style really easy to follow and the conversational tone made the story very relatable. It was much more of a cute, fluffy romance than I thought it was going to be but it was still enjoyable.

I found the story really captivating and even though I couldn’t really relate to the characters, I really enjoyed them. Tem was my favourite – she was so funny and the kind of person you need to have in your life. Rhys was incredibly sweet and I loved watching his and Steffi’s relationship blossom. I really loved how the chapter headings including a diagram of how that number is said in sign language – it was a really unique aspect and even though it wasn’t part of the story, it furthered my enjoyment of the book.

This is by no means the best contemporary I’ve ever read but it was a really unique story and I learnt a lot from reading it. I highly recommend reading this book and I can’t wait to read more from Sara Barnard.

Leave a Reply

