This Savage Song by V. E. Schwab

Rating – 5/5

“Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city, a grisly metropolis where the violence has begun to create real and deadly monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the inhabitants pay for his protection. August just wants to be human, as good-hearted as his own father – but his curse is to be what the humans fear. The thin truce that keeps the Harker and Flynn families at peace is crumbling, and an assassination attempt forces Kate and August into a tenuous alliance. But how long they will survive in a city where no one is safe and monsters are real…”

I’ve been meaning to read this book for so long and I decided to pick it up as my first book of the month and I’m so glad I did. I flew through this book – the chapters are quite short which made it really easy to just keep reading and before I knew it, I’d reached the end.

This story is so unique and it really stands out from other fantasy books I’ve read. The idea that monsters manifest from criminal actions is so cool and I loved learning about the different types and how they fit into the world Victoria created. The characters also made this book stand-out! August Flynn is one of the most precious characters I’ve ever come across and he made my experience reading this book all the more enjoyable. I also really loved Kate which surprised me as the Kate we see at the beginning of the book who picks fights and rebels isn’t the sort of character I usually like but the more I learned about her, the more I liked her.

I’m so excited to read this sequel, Our Dark Duet, even though I’ve heard it’s going to break my heart! I highly recommend this book, as well as all of V. E. Schwab’s books – you will not be disappointed!

Leave a Reply

