The Bloodlines Series by Richelle Mead

Rating – 3.5/5

Bloodlines – 3.5/5

The Golden Lily – 3.5/5

The Indigo Spell – 3.5/5

The Fiery Heart – 3/5

Silver Shadows – 3/5

The Ruby Circle – 3.5/5

This review is coming after a reread of this series, roughly a year or so after my original read.

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead is one of my favourite YA series. It was the first YA series I ever read and kick started my love of reading back up again. I remember taking the first 3 books on a 2 week holiday and I got through them so quickly that I read them twice more straight after I read them because I fell in love with the story so much.

I honestly don’t remember much of my original reading experience of Bloodlines but I’m sure I read it not long after Vampire Academy so I imagine I was still smitten with vampire novels and I enjoyed them more than I did the second time round. That isn’t to say I didn’t enjoy my reading experience the second time round but I know my ratings would have been considerably higher had I reviewed the series after my first read.

I love Sydney’s character and it was a pleasure to watch her character development throughout the 6 books. It was also wonderful to see more of Eddie, who we met in Vampire Academy, alongside other characters we know and love. Unfortunately, I think Aiden’s character let this series down for me which is a shame. The last 3 books are written from a dual perspective of Aiden and Sydney but I didn’t feel as though Aiden’s voice was very distinctive which at times led to me double checking whose chapter I was reading.

Despite this, I did enjoy my reread of this series though I cannot see myself reaching for it again.

Leave a Reply

