Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Rating – 5/5

“Cath and Wren are identical twins and until recently they did absolutely everything together. Now they’re off to University and Wren’s decided she doesn’t want to be one half of a pair any more – she wants to dance, meet boys, go to parties and let loose. It’s not so easy for Cath. She would rather bury herself in the fanfiction she write where there’s more romance far more intense than anything she’s ever experience in real life. Now Cath has to decide whether she’s ready to open her heart to new people and new experiences, and she’s realizing that there’s more to learn about love than she ever thought possible…”

I love this book so much. I see so much of myself in Cath which is what makes this book so special to me. She is such a relatable character and reading this book has really helped me to prepare for going back to University. I loved the dynamic between Cath and Regan – their friendship was so unique and really comical to read. Levi is also one of my favourite book boyfriends – he makes mistakes but he always owns up to them and it was clear to see how much he cared for Cath by making her feel safe in the relationship. I really don’t like Wren’s character – she’s so selfish and even though she decides to make amends at the end of the book, I don’t think it excuses the way she treated Cath throughout.

I adored the chapters of fanfiction / excerpts from Simon and Baz stories that began each chapter. The first time I read this book was before Carry On but my reread book place after reading (and loving) Carry On and I found I enjoyed the snippets even more the second time round.

This is a really warm and wonderful book that I think a lot of young people can relate to. I’m not the hugest fan of Rainbow Rowell but I highly recommend Fangirl and Carry On!

Leave a Reply

