Noah Can’t Even by Simon James Green

Rating – 3.5/5

“Poor Noah Grimes! His father disappeared years ago, his mother’s Beyonce tribute act is an unacceptable embarrassment, and his beloved gran is no longer herself. He only has one friend, Harry, and school is…Well, it’s pure HELL. Why can’t Noah be normal, like everyone else at school? Maybe if he struck up a romantic relationship with someone – maybe Sophie, who is perfect and lovely – he’d be seen in a different light? But Noah’s plans are derailed when Harry kisses him at a party. That’s when things go from bad to utter chaos.”

I hadn’t heard much about this book going into it but I’m really glad I picked it up.

This book was hilarious! I very rarely laugh out loud whilst reading but this book had me giggling away from start to finish. I experienced lots of second-hand embarrassment at the hands of poor Noah but you couldn’t help but laugh at the situations he got himself into. This book is also incredibly overdramatic and Noah’s life is honestly something you would expect from a TV drama but I found this to be really entertaining and I couldn’t help but laugh at how extreme it all was.

Noah was so awkward but incredibly funny (without meaning to be) but he also dealt with some really hard life experiences that added a hidden depth to this book. I really liked Harry but I wish we saw more of him and his relationship with Noah.

I really enjoyed this book – it’s by no means the best contemporary out there but if you need an instant pick-me-up, I highly recommend this book because it is guaranteed to make you laugh!

Leave a Reply

