When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Rating – 4/5

“Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right? Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself. The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitate toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not? Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.”

Even though contemporary is my favourite genre to read, I find it very difficult to rate books higher than a 4/5 unless I really relate to the characters and fall head over heels in love with the book. Despite giving this book a 4/5, it is one of my favourite contemporaries and a story I highly recommend as it is incredibly diverse and features an arranged marriage which is unheard of in YA.

I really loved Dimple – she was such a fierce and passionate protagonist and I could really identify with her feelings of loneliness which made me love her even more. Rishi was adorably sweet and a real change from the brooding bad boy we often see in contemporary YA. I enjoyed watching their relationship develop and I was rooting for them throughout. Celia was a really interesting character – I could never quite make up my mind about her but when she told Dimple that she had watched some Indian films so that she knew how to respect Dimple’s culture, I really admired her and she grew on me as the story progressed.

Family is such a huge aspect of this book and I loved learning about Dimple and Rishi’s families and how both teens fit into these families. It was also really interesting to learn about their cultures and how much their culture impacted their lives. It was incredibly enlightening and really made this book stand out from other contemporaries.

This is the first contemporary I’ve read in over a month so I did find it a little difficult to get back into the habit of reading lots of detail about the kisses shared and the way the protagonists looked to each other – it made me understand why some people find contemporary really difficult to read! However, this book was super adorable and I highly recommend you give it a read! (Also, the cover is absolutely stunning!)

Leave a Reply

