The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon

Rating – 4/5

“Following a bloody battle against foes on every side, Paige Mahoney has risen to the dangerous position of Underqueen, ruling over London’s criminal population. But, having turned her back on Jaxon Hall and with vengeful enemies still at large, the task of stabilising the fractured underworld has never seemed so challenging. Little does Paige know that her reign may be cut short by the introduction of Senshield, a deadly technology that spells doom for the clairvoyant community and the world as they know it…”

I’m finally starting to really enjoy this series! This is by far the best instalment and I am highly anticipating the next release.

This book was filled with suspense from start to finish and I never wanted to put it down. We were provided with so much more information on the government and technology used which was really helpful and also very interesting. The story also took us outside of London; to Manchester (my home city) and Edinburgh, and I have a feeling the remaining books in this series may take us even further afield. I’m also starting too really like some of the characters – Eliza is a new favourite of mine and I hope we see more of her as the series progresses.

I wasn’t sure I was going to continue with this series after being disappointed by the first two books but after this exciting instalment, I know I will be picking up a copy of the next book as soon as it is released.

Leave a Reply

