The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon

Rating – 3.5/5

“Paige Mahoney has escaped the brutal prison camp of Shoel I, but her problems have only just begun: many of the survivors are missing and she is the most wanted person in London…”

I don’t know what it is about this series that I’m not liking. I enjoy the writing style, I am fond of most of the characters and the world building is incredible but there just seems to be something missing for me.

I was looking forward to reading this book after the first book, The Bone Season, got better as the story progressed. However, this book seemed to do exactly the same and I only found myself getting really into the story in the last few chapters. These last few chapters were tense and atmospheric and oh my goodness, that ending completely threw me! I am looking forward to reading the next instalment and I hope I enjoy it more than I enjoyed the first two books.

We continue to learn more about the society and government in this book which is what interested me the most and I have a feeling that the next book will entice me even more with the politics of this world. I am starting to really enjoy Paige as a character after feeling rather indifferent towards her at the start and I sincerely hope that Nick Nygard stays alive throughout this whole series because I would really miss his character if he died.

This is a really unique story and I am looking forward to what the next books bring.

Leave a Reply

