The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

Rating – 3.5/5

“For the past two hundred years the Scion government has led an oppressive campaign against unnaturalness in London. Clairvoyance in all its forms has been decreed a criminal offence, and those who practise it viciously punished. Forced underground, a clairvoyant underworld has developed, combating persecution and evading capture. Paige Mahoney, a powerful dreamwalker operating in the Seven Dials districts of London, leads a double life, using her unnaturalness illegally while hiding her gift from her father, who works for the Scion regime…”

I’d heard so many wonderful things about this book and it really seemed like the sort of book I would love but unfortunately, it didn’t live up to my expectations.

My low rating for this book has nothing to do with the writing and world-building, which were both brilliant and have made me want to continue with this series. The characters were interesting, although I did not feel a connection to any of them, I am interested in reading more about them in the next instalments of the series.

I think what made me enjoy this book less was that it reminded me of a trilogy I read some years ago about angels which I really didn’t enjoy so although the writing and world-building were interesting (and did make me keep reading when I was ready to DNF this book), I just couldn’t shake the feeling that parts of this story reminded me of a trilogy I didn’t enjoy. However, as the book progressed, I was starting to get into the story and by the end I was anticipating reading the sequel so I am going to continue on with this series and I will hopefully enjoy the next instalments more than this first book.

Leave a Reply

