A Conjuring of Light by V. E. Schwab

Rating – 5/5

“The precarious equilibrium among the four Londons has reached its breaking point. Once brimming with the red vivacity of magic, darkness casts a shadow over the Maresh Empire, leaving a space for another London to rise. Kell – once assumed to be the last surviving Antari – begins to waver under the pressure of competing loyalties. Lila Bard, once a commonplace – but never common – thief, has survived and flourished through a series of magic trials. But now she must learn to control the magic, before it bleeds her dry. Meanwhile, the disgraced Captain Alucard Emery, and the Night Spire crew are attempting a race against time to require the impossible, as an ancient enemy returns to claim to a crown and a fallen hero is desperate to save a decaying world…”

What a sad but perfect end to what has become one of my favourite trilogies. A Conjuring of Light concluded the series perfectly and I was left in tears at the thought of leaving these characters behind.

From start to finish this book kept me on the edge of my seat! I experienced a rollercoaster of emotions and I was left a sobbing mess. I haven’t fallen in love with a book in such a long time and I know that this unique story will stay with me forever. The world created is so vivid – I could picture the characters as I was reading! I’ve recently discovered that A Darker Shade of Magic is being adapted into a film and I cannot wait to see this incredible series brought to the big screen. The story went in a direction I could not have expected and the characters continued to be developed so well. The final few chapters were so beautifully written – I really didn’t want this story to end!

It’s so hard to review the final book in a trilogy without giving away spoilers but I must admit that Rhy Maresh is still one of my all-time favourite characters, as well as Hastra and Lila Bard is still one of the coolest female characters in YA!

I’m so excited to read more from V. E. Schwab and I know I will be coming back to this trilogy again and again.

Leave a Reply

