A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab

Rating – 4/5

“Kell is one of the last travellers – magicians with a rare ability to travel between parallel universes by one magical city. There’s Grey London, without magic and ruled by the mad King George III. Red London – where magic is revered, and where Kell was raised alongside the heir to the empire. White London – where people fight to control the remaining magic and magic fights back. And once there was Black London…”

When the third book in the trilogy, A Conjuring of Light, was released, I saw lots of people talking about this series and how incredible it is so I knew I had to read it for myself. Unfortunately, I’ve waited a while before reading them so I have seen quite a few spoilers for this series yet it was still nothing like I was expecting.

The story is incredibly unique and combined with strong, likeable characters, this series has the potential to be one of my favourites. Now you’re probably wondering why I only gave this book a 4/5… From what I’ve read, the books get progressively better so I want to save my 5/5 rating for the final book as I already know it is going to be incredible. That isn’t to say this first book wasn’t incredible, I just know that other two are going to be even better.

I can’t wait to see more from the characters – I’m already obsessed with Kell, and Lila is one of the coolest female characters I’ve read about. The world that has been created with the different versions of London is so vivid that I can clearly picture each world as Kell travels between them so I’m excited to learn more about these worlds as the story progresses.

Even though this is only my first book of V. E. Schwab’s that I have read, I am already highly anticipating reading more from her. I highly recommend this book!

Leave a Reply

