Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

Rating – 3.5/5

“Taylor Edwards’ family aren’t close but when they receive life-changing news they decide to spend one last summer together at their old lake house. While they all try to get to know each other again, Taylor finds the past she ran away from waiting for her. Her former best friend is still living across the lake and still as mad with Taylor as she was five years ago, and her first boyfriend has moved in next door… and he’s much cuter at seventeen than he was at twelve. While there are days spend lying on the beach and nights gazing at the stars, Taylor knows that when summer ends there’s no way to recapture what she stands to lose. But there’s also a second chance – with friends, with family, maybe even with love. If only she was brave enough to take it.”

This was the last of Moran Matson’s books I had left to read and it sounded like the sort of thing I would love. I’ve always had mixed feelings towards Morgan Matson’s books – I’ve enjoyed them all but always felt there was something missing that stopped me from really loving them. I enjoyed her latest book, The Unexpected Everything, the most so I’m excited to see what she brings out next.

I did enjoy this book! It was the perfect book to sit out in the sun with and wish I was at a lake like Taylor and her family. The theme of family was really wonderful in this book and the end made me cry like a baby! I liked all of the characters although I didn’t feel a real connection to any of them. I did enjoy seeing all the relationships develop between friends and family though – this was perhaps my favourite aspect of the book.

However, like most Morgan Matson books, I just didn’t love it. I thought the “past” that Taylor was so afraid of would be a lot worse than it actually was – it was a bit anticlimactic! I did like this book though and I will definitely continue to read more Morgan Matson books in the future.

Leave a Reply

