To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Rating – 3/5

“Lara Jean Song keeps love letters in a hatbox her mother gave her – one for every boy she’s ever loved. She can say anything she wants, because the letters are for her eyes only. Until the day they’re sent out…”

This trilogy seems to be everyone’s favourite so I thought it was about time I gave it a try. Unfortunately, I did not love it like everyone else seems to.

I found Lara Jean’s voice very difficult to like as she was so naive and immature about certain things. I understand that this is part of her charm but I just could not get along with her character which made liking the book rather difficult. The story was interesting in parts but not at all what I was expecting and I think I had set my hopes for this trilogy a little too high. I could not connect with any of the characters but I did like Josh’s character.

I can’t really put my finger on what made this book so disappointing for me because it is usually the sort of cheesy, cliche contemporary that I adore. I will definitely continue with the trilogy because I already own the next two books and hopefully I will enjoy them a little more.

Leave a Reply

