A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas

Rating – 3.5/5

“Feyre will bring vengeance. She has left the Night Court – and her High Lord – and is playing a deadly game of deceit. In the Spring Court, Tamlin is making deals with the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees and Feyre is determined to uncover his plans. But to do so she must weave a web of lies, and one slip may spell doom for Feyre, but for her world as well. As mighty armies grapple for power, Feyre must decide who to trust among the dazzling and lethal High Lords – and hunt for allies in unexpected places. But while war rages, it is her heart that will face the greatest battle.”

This book really disappointed me in comparison to the first two books in the trilogy. I read A Court of Thorns and Roses around a year ago after seeing it hyped up so much on Bookstagram and Booktube. I’m not the biggest fan of fantasy but I’d heard it was a loose Beauty and the Beast retelling (which is my favourite Disney film) so I thought I might enjoy it. Which I did. I then read A Court of Mist and Fury quite soon after and I loved this book even more so I was highly anticipating the third book to finish this incredible trilogy but unfortunately, I did not get the book I was after. It took me just over a week to read which is a really long time for me to read a book (even one of this size) which just shows how disinterested I was with the story.

Don’t get me wrong, A Court of Wings and Ruin isn’t terrible. The characters were developed well and I enjoyed the end quite a lot. I also enjoyed seeing more of the other Courts and being introduced to the remaining High Lords. However, something just fell really flat for me and I felt indifferent towards the book from start to finish. There have also been lots of readers harmed by the representation in this book so I would recommend searching for some reviews that shed light on the problematic aspects of this book (and even the whole trilogy).

Perhaps I would have enjoyed ACOWAR more if I’d have reread the first two books again before I started reading so maybe one day I will do a full reread of this trilogy. If I do I will update this review with my thoughts if they change.

I apologise that this review is so short and doesn’t really go into too much detail but I find it difficult to review later books in a trilogy/series without spoiling them!

Leave a Reply

