The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Rating – 5/5

“Sixteen-year-old Starr lives in two worlds: the poor neighbourhood where she was born and raised and her posh high school in the suburbs. The uneasy balance between them is shattered when Starr is the only witness to the fatal shooting of her unarmed best friend, Khalil, by a police officer. Now what Starr says could destroy her community. It could also get her killed.”

This book is wonderful and so incredibly important. I think it should be a must-read for everyone!

All I’ve seen are positive reviews for this book and I completely understand why. It is inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement and follows Starr who is the only witness to the murder of her best friend by a police officer. From start to finish this book dealt with heavy topics such as gangs, police brutality and racism. But it was also a breath of fresh air with an amazing family dynamic and, though complicated at times, strong friendships and relationships. The characters were unique and interesting – I loved Starr, she was an incredible protagonist to follow through this story.

“I have always said that if I saw it happen to somebody, I would have the loudest voice, making sure the world knew what went down. Now I am that person, and I am too afraid to speak.”

“I’ll never give up. I’ll never be quiet. I promise.”

I think these two quotes, the first from the beginning of the book and the other from the end really show the development that Starr’s character goes through and I believe we all can learn something from her.

I smiled, cried and laughed my way through this book whilst being educated further on a topic that everyone should be aware of. This is the perfect book and is definitely one of my favourite reads of 2017.

Leave a Reply

