The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

Rating – 5/5

“Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love. No matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly is always careful. Better to be careful than be hurt. But when Cassie gets a new girlfriend who comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick, everything changes. Will is funny, flirtatious and basically the perfect first boyfriend. There’s only one problem: Molly’s co-worker, Reid, the awkward Tolkien superfan she could never fall for… right?”

I absolutely adored this book! It made me smile from start to finish and was so funny it even made me laugh out loud a number of times which I never do whilst reading a book! The characters were really interesting and the story was the perfect contemporary pick-me-up that I so desperately needed.

I knew I was going to love this book because I adored Becky’s other book, Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda, which you should most definitely read if you haven’t already and also before this one as some of the characters from Simon vs appear in this book. I loved Simon vs but I loved The Upside of Unrequited even more! I really related to Molly’s character – more so than any other character in a YA book! I don’t have a cool twin sister or the most amazing two mums but her issues with self-esteem and her outlook on boys and relationships was so similar to mine that it was a little scary at times how much I saw myself in her. All of the relationships, family, friends and romantic, were really sweet and made the story all the more enjoyable. This book is also filled to the brim with diverse characters which is really amazing.

I could honestly gush about this book forever but I think it best you read it yourself because I am 100% sure that you will enjoy it. I will mostly definitely be reading this book again in the summer and it is securely in my top books of 2017 so far!

Leave a Reply

